Happy New Year!

waheguru = god is one

“May we break boundaries, tear down walls, and build on the foundation of goodness inside each of us. May we look past differences, gain understanding, and embrace acceptance. May we reach out to each other, rather than resist. May we be better stewards of the earth…May we practice gratitude…May we hold hope for the future very tenderly in our hearts…And may we love with our whole hearts, for that’s the only way to love.”  – Unknown

John 17:21 – “that they ALL MAY Be One, as You Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me.”

“Waheguru” is a s a term most often used in Sikhism to refer to God, the Supreme Being or the creator of all. It means “The Good/Best Teacher” in the Punjabi language. Wahi means “good” (a Middle Persian borrowing) and “Guru” (Sanskrit: गुरु) is a term denoting “teacher”.  The chant really resonated with me, even though I did not know what it meant at first. I could not help but play it over and over.  When my friend, Aman, shared the translation with me, I knew that God was speaking to me once again.  God really is the best teacher.  He reveals all things to me in his time, and he is being more demanding these days.  He is demanding our full attention and our whole hearts in building his kingdom.   The prayer by the unknown author, was taken from an associates Christmas card, and echoes some of my desires for the New Year, especially the part about holding hope for the future very tenderly in our hearts.  With all that is going on in the world, it is very easy to lose hope, throw our hands in the air, and say the world is coming to an end, and it’s all down hill from here; or simply bury our heads in the sand and act as if the problems do not exist, and that they will fix themselves.  I have been fighting the urge to simply throw in the towel on hoping for change, but then it dawned on me, that is exactly what the devil and the opposition would want.  You may ask, who is the opposition?  Well that all depends on who and where you are in life, but generally speaking, the opposition are those who seek to oppress others for their own personal gain.  The opposition are those individuals who have penetrated our government and various institutions in order to push forward on their agenda of social reform and cleansing, even if this agenda only benefits a chosen few. As a woman of African, Native, and Caribbean decent born in the USA, I have met few people with a similar background and no one with the same.  In 2012 fight to know and be yourself, and join with those who confirm who you are.  I am discovering how conflict can cause ties to be broken, but prayer can create new and stronger bonds. Let’s work to build communities rooted in principles of love and acceptance for all, so that we may resuscitate the hope for a prosperous future. In the last seconds of 2012 pray with me.  Pray that God tames our hearts, and allows it to bend easily to his will; so that we can all wake up with a joy that burns with hopes reassurance, giving us the confidence that we can become the change that we seek in order to further God’s desire that we ALL may be one.  Time is too short and resources to slim for us to leave it all on our elected officials.  We must call on a higher power to bail us out of this mess.  Give God his Glory in 2012!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Reblogged this on nMyGoals and commented:

    Have you been feeling overwhelmed, and/or under attack? Channeling that negative energy into something positive is always a healthy practice. While thinking of what I could do to pull myself out of the negative zone that I was being pushed into do to some circumstances, waheguru popped into my head. I had to play it several times as I meditated on its meaning to clear my mind. This post was my wish and hope for 2012. Seeing all that has happened in 2013, I probably should have re-posted it sooner. Stay encouraged. No matter how small a role, each one of us has a part to play in OUR happiness and success. Look to the positive and good in all things, and allow yourself to be comforted by hope. Peace, love and blessings.

Leave a Reply

