“All of the Lights” – Kanye West

When I watch this video it symbolizes so many aspects of life for me. The one that stands out most, are the sacrifices that parents make so that their children can have a better life. I remember my mother talking of how my older sister had to walk to school, and how afraid she was for her because she was so young, walking the streets of New York City. My parents loved all of us, and I believe they did what they honestly felt was in our best interest, but this world is just MESSED UP!! I need for everyone to see and understand that we are all products of not only our genetic make-up but also our environments. There have been some dark travesties committed against poor people and minorities in this country, and it is our responsibility to shed some light on it for the world to see and understand, instead of judging and belittling victims for things outside of their control.

Leave a Reply

