Gossip

A person who gossip’s is defined by Webster’s dictionary as a person who habitually reveals personal or sensational facts about others.  In a world that thrives on sensationalism due to the media; it has become too common for people to tear one another down without even thinking about it, afterall it’s good for ratings, and they hope to boost their popularity.  I live by the golden rule of due unto others as I would have them do unto me.  It does not make me feel good to talk about someone else’s personal business. Furthermore, if I have time to talk about someone’s personal affairs that means that I am not taking care of my own affairs.  The only time I would talk about someone else’s personal business is if I am trying to help them, not to laugh or poke fun, and definitely not to judge.  At the height of the political season pay close attention, you will hear all kinds of things about the candidates and their families.  I say, what does that have to do with the issues at hand?  People who gossip are only trying to make themselves look important, and usually have taken little care to their own personal affairs (home issues, kids are a mess, health issues, etc.)  Gossip is a tool of the devil. Without proper control over our minds, we lack control of our tongues, and thus leave ourselves vulnerable to be used as the devils tool for distruction.  Remember you will reap what you saw, so be mindful of the things that you say about others. Be mindful and plant positive seeds. Think before you speak.  Before you open your mouth, ask yourself, would I want someone to share that information about me?  Let’s use our words to build one another up, and not to judge and tear one another down.  Take time to assess yourself, and ask, why did I say that about this person? Are you jealous? Are you judging? Or are you just bored?  What are your motives?  And is it worth causing hardship in the life of someone else, only to have that bad karma come back to you?  This is counter productive to us reaching our goals – Unity

 

Leave a Reply

